Posted on

Use Cloud Storage, instead of your Thumbdrive!

OK. What’s the hell is cloud storage? No idea at all? Well I’ll simply put it this way, you know, it  is actually storing your data over the internet than the usual storing and transferring over to the thumb drive or so called USB flash drive.You can also share your files among your families and friends easily. All this for free!

Nah, no point beating around the bushes, I’ll go straight to the point.  I’ll give you 5 best and free cloud storage for you guys to use throughout studying in Temasek Polytechnic.

1. Dropbox – 2 GB free. Support syncing your documents to Desktops, Iphone, Ipad, Android, Blackberry.

2. Box.Com – 5 GB free. Support syncing your documents to Iphone, Ipad, Android, Blackberry.

3. Sugarsync – 5 GB free. Support syncing your documents to Desktops, Iphone, Ipad, Android, Blackberry.

4. Google Drive – For those who has a google account, you can straight away make use of it! Support syncing your documents to Desktops, Iphone (Coming Soon) , Ipad (Coming Soon), Android.

5. Skydrive – For those who has a Live or Hotmail account, use this! 25 GB free space. Support syncing your documents to Desktops, Iphone, Ipad, Android, Windows Phone. However, this site is a bit slow for uploading of big files. You have been warned!

Overall, my best pick pick will be Dropbox and Sugarsync. Why? It due to the fact that they are super fast and you can simply drag and drop your files in your desktops! You may then able to access the files from other computers (with internet access of course!), your mobile phones or from your Ipads.

Do enjoy using them. I”ll bet you that they will come in handy for your future project works!

8 responses to “Use Cloud Storage, instead of your Thumbdrive!

  1. aplusetw

    Hey Yusran!
    Thanks for your blogpost! I didn’t know there’s so many other cloud storage sites on the net! I might try out Skydrive since it allows me to store 25GB of files compared to the one I’m currently using now, which is Dropbox! A question though, are they all user friendly? Or do we have to take some time to learn how to navigate the site? Thanks! 😀
    Amanda

    • yusran.y

      Yeah they are user friendly. Do you know that you can drag n drop your files easily without opening the internet browsers? Well simply install a software locaetd on their site, to your computer. After that, you will have a special new folder under my documents folders. Drag your files there. It will then automatically upload your files to the cloud server which is the internet.

  2. Benjamin ⋅

    Wow! There are so many other storage instead of thumbdrive. i didn’t know there are also Box.com and Sugarsync to store things. So far, i’m only using dropbox, skydrive and sometime google drive. Now i know other type of storage available online. Thanks 😀

  3. Verity Bao ⋅

    Wow, Yusran, I got a lot of information about cloud storage from your blog. Last time, I stored my reports in my thumb drive and went to school library to print them out. But I forgot to take it away!! You know how bad the consequences would be. Now I use dropbox and I prefer it since it is fast as you mentioned. I will try other kinds of cloud storage if possible. 🙂

  4. Alexander ⋅

    Since I’m thinking of using skydrive since it has the largest amount of free capacity, is it okay for me to use it using my TP email as my account?

Leave a Reply

